Author Topic: A thought for all  (Read 4272 times)

Offline Antares

• Super Heavy Poster
    • View Profile
A thought for all
« on: November 05, 2010, 04:29:25 PM »
With the holidays right around the corner, we tend to stress about finding the right gift for all our friends and loved ones.

But there are many people out there, unknown to you, that need a gift that only you can give.

I've been donating blood regularly for close to 30 years now, and it is the most satisfying thing I do. Over the years, I've donated well over 15 gallons to strangers all over the country.

What makes this so special for me, is that I was told many years ago by a blood center nurse, that my blood was very rare, in terms of usability. My blood type is O-, which is termed the universal donor, which means, my blood can be accepted by anyone. What makes it special is the lack of a certain virus in my blood called Cytomegalovirus, which appears in 80% of the population.  Because of this, my donation is used for pre-mature babies and infants under the age of 18 months old, as they cannot fight off the destructive nature of the virus.

So as the holiday progresses and your trying to find that right gift for a loved one, try and give a gift that will save three lives. It will bring you more satisfaction than any other gift you could buy in a store.

On my way out the door to donate again.

Offline Kathy

• Super Heavy Poster
    • View Profile
Re: A thought for all
« Reply #1 on: November 05, 2010, 05:56:05 PM »
My blood is boringly common but I give any way. I used to donate to the Red Cross but Buffalo has UNYTS (an organ transplant organization) that started collecting blood too. The blood they collect stays and helps people in the local area.

RossRoy

« Reply #2 on: November 05, 2010, 06:05:45 PM »
Unfortunately, my blood is O-neg too. But everytime I went (all of 3 times) they refused me. Why? I don't really know.. guess I didn't meet some sort of standard or whatever.

Offline Jimmy