Author Topic: My Own Web Site - help/advice needed  (Read 2090 times)

lyonsden5

My Own Web Site - help/advice needed
« on: August 20, 2007, 10:17:17 PM »
hello all

If you don't know I work from home. I have a CAD drafting service where I do Commercial Plumbing, Mechanical and HVAC Shop drawings for contractors from all over the USA. (Schools, Hospitals, Convention Centers, etc.)

Many of these contractors have gone to using FTP sites to host their CAD files. It makes it much easier to share these files (as most of you already know).

What I need to do is create my own website. I have some html experience and can do a decent site (well, an OK site anyway) using MS front page as well. What I need is to figure out the best way to create my own site as well as find a good hosting company.

Here is what I will need on my site

Home page
Company Profile
Current Projects
Completed Projects
References
Contact
the ability to add or delete pages myself once it's set up
Also possibly a Forum page

Also need FTP access for myself as well as the ability to set up separate password protected folders that can be accessed by anyone with the password. Possibly up and down transfers on those folders (if possible) but at least download. Upload could be done another way I guess. Only a small group would need upload capabilities where as a much larger group would need download access.

In addition, my brother has a software company. Once I figure out my site I want to be able to change his site to be an FTP site as well. Here is the site I created for him now (go easy on me  :bag: ) www.drawtech.com It was created with Front Page. I have a couple of questions.
Can I convert it to or add on to it an FTP section where we can upload/download files?

Also can I have it where he can put a software update on his site so his program can automatically look for this update (like most software's can?)