Author Topic: Samurai Jack: Season 3  (Read 2452 times)

RossRoy

Samurai Jack: Season 3
« on: June 21, 2007, 03:39:23 AM »
Like Pete, please note that this is my first attempt... be kind!  :P
Also, I've shamelessly (and without permission) copied Pete's format. I hope you don't mind! Don't forget "Imitation is the nicest form of flattery" :P

MOVIE / DVD INFO

Title: Samurai Jack: Season 3
Year: 2003
Creator: Genndy Tartakovsky (Dexter's Laboratory, Powerpuff Girls, Star Wars Clone Wars)
Rating: DVD Not Rated (TV-Y7)
Length: 303 Min.
Video:  Full Frame 1.33:1
Audio:  English, French and Spanish DD Surround
Subtitles: English, French, Spanish and closed captioned (english)

Stars:
Phil LaMarr (Jack)
Mako (Aku)

Plot:
A samurai flung into the future by an evil entity, travels and fights to return home and free the world of evil.

Extras:
   1. The Martial Art of Samurai Jack featurette
   2. Birth of Evil Part 1 & 2 commentary
   3. Lost Artwork Gallery (with commentary by the creator)

WHAT I THINK OF IT
Audio:
"Who else wants some?"

Samurai Jack lives through sound (and picture, but on more on that later). The sound is spot on, from the lightness of birds and crickets in quiet scenes, to the loudness of dragons roaring, swords clashing, rave music, etc. The sound on this is really immersive, and really fits the scenes. Dialog, when there is any, is nice and clear, never overpowered by the ambiant sounds. A really nice soundtrack.

I must also mention the music. All the music is composed (except the main theme and end theme) by a single person, James L. Venable. It is, in one word, awesome. Samurai Jack is series that goes from espionage type, to rave, to a scottish theme, to a western type episode, etc. And Mr Venable does a really good job at tackling all these different styles of music. The rave episode stands out. I've never been one to like electronic music, but he manages to keep the music interesting enough throughout the episode. A great achievement indeed!