Author Topic: Whatcha doin' for a living?  (Read 2401 times)

Offline DJ Doena

• Administrator
  • Mega Heavy Poster
  • Battle Troll
    • View Profile
    • My Blog
Whatcha doin' for a living?
« on: February 25, 2012, 06:18:32 PM »
Just out of curiosity: What are doing from 9 to 5?

I am a software architect / developer. For seven years I've been a member of a team that writes a software in which you can write other software. ;)

This software is called TIA Portal* (TIA = Totally Integrated Automation) and the users of this software are engineers who in turn write software to operate manufacturing plants.

Here's a rather boring but at least short video of what the software looks like:

http://www.industry.siemens.com/topics/global/en/tia-portal/controller-sw-tia-portal/simatic-step7-basic-v11/screencasts/Pages/portal-project-views.aspx

If everything goes well, we (i.e. Siemens) will release a new major version in fall.

*The old version of this software was called STEP 7 but despite looking like an english word ("step") it actually stood for "STeuerungen Einfach Programmieren" (controllers easily programmed) and had to make way for a more international (i.e. english ;)) name.
Karsten

Abraham Lincoln once said The trouble with quotes from the internet is that you never know if they're genuine.

my Blog | my DVD Profiler Tools

Mustrum_Ridcully

Re: Whatcha doin' for a living?
« Reply #1 on: February 25, 2012, 06:48:08 PM »
I'm (nowadays) a self-employed IT-Tech.
Which translates to "Girl Friday of computer affairs"
I'm doing everything from Hardware configuration and sale to support and repair.