Author Topic: Help a girl out?!?!  (Read 4858 times)

addicted2comics(:P)

Help a girl out?!?!
« on: May 12, 2010, 01:39:33 AM »
I've been trying to get this info for a long time now, so now I'm looking to my friends on here for help.

Some may know I'm an aspiring writer, but I have some ideas I really wanna keep mine, so my question is....Can a minor claim copyright in Maryland? I know copyright laws are different for each state, so I need to know this specifically for Maryland.

I must have looked everywhere, but I can't figure it out. Someone gonna help me out here? Much obliged!

Offline Jimmy

• Mega Heavy Poster
  • Yes this is me...
    • View Profile
Re: Help a girl out?!?!
« Reply #1 on: May 12, 2010, 01:57:52 AM »
I don't see why not...

But the easiest way to copyright something when you are a writer is to post a copy to yourself (or at your father if you prefer) by recommanded mail, keep the package in your files and don't open it. This way you have a solid proof of ownership because of the date on the package.

« Reply #2 on: May 12, 2010, 02:22:42 AM »
I realize this but I was advised before I purchase a copyright that my state law says its ok. Idk what the Maryland copyrights laws are. I've been looking into this for a while and no answers turned up.

snowcat

« Reply #3 on: May 12, 2010, 09:03:54 PM »
Jimmy is right, script writers often send recorded copies of a script to themselves and don't open it that way it is dated and unopened... so proof :D

...as for certain states I think the only thing you can do is write a nice letter to your local council type thing (...I have no idea what you guys have in America) and ask them for advice

« Reply #4 on: May 12, 2010, 09:41:48 PM »
 :laugh: lol, I know how to! I just need to know if I can

I'd try a lawyer like others advise, but that costs money we don't have, so thought I'd ask for advice here first.

Najemikon

« Reply #5 on: May 12, 2010, 09:57:27 PM »